Triple Ace Games Forum Index Triple Ace Games
ARCHIVE FORUM - POSTING LOCKED
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

SWD and magic clarifications

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Triple Ace Games Forum Index -> Hellfrost
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jltsavage

No Cards!


Joined: 12 Jul 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 5:39 am    Post subject: SWD and magic clarifications Reply with quote

The SWD-Hellfrost conversion document states:
"Setting Rules: None of the optional setting rules are used in Hellfrost, though GMs may always add them."

Do the following rules then not apply? (SWD, p.95)

--"The penalty to the roll is half the power’s usual Power Point cost (rounded down)" when casting powers from the SWD.

--Interrupting Powers

--Power Preparation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Enno

King of Clubs


Joined: 11 Jun 2009
Posts: 2623
Location: Ulm, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 6:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hellfrost comes with its own set of magic rules, which are described on HFPHB p49ff. That includes its own version of the No Power Points rule.

Hellfrost knows no penalty on casting, because its spells come without a pp cost from the beginning. Hellfrost knows casting penalties only for maintained spells, in certain environmental situations (too warm or too cold), for fatigue, wounds etc

Interrupting powers of the SWD No PP option is unchanged to the basic rule. Maintained powers where always "disrupted" that way when maintained beyond the 3 round base. Thus disrupting a power works similar in HF.

Powers are not prepared in HF. Only Heahwisards know a similar penalty, which is described in the setting book under this arcane background.



Hope that helps! Smile
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
TAG Wiggy

Triple Ace


Joined: 11 Jun 2008
Posts: 5112
Location: I have flying monkeys, and I'm not afraid to use them!

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 11:16 am    Post subject: Re: SWD and magic clarifications Reply with quote

jltsavage wrote:
--"The penalty to the roll is half the power’s usual Power Point cost (rounded down)" when casting powers from the SWD.


No.

There has been discussion that GM's could impose a -1 penalty per Rank of the spell if they felt magic was overpowered, but that's a house-rule.

Quote:
--Interrupting Powers


That rule is no different from earlier iterations -- it's just clarified. The bit about having to be conscious is covered in the HFPG under Maintaining Spells (p. 50).

Since powers in HF are Maintained from the moment you cast them, you don't get the 3 round grace period of casters using Power Points.

Quote:
--Power Preparation


No. Heahwisards are a special case because of the nature of their magic.
_________________
Wiggy
TAG Creative Director
Check us out on Facebook for all the latest news!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jltsavage

No Cards!


Joined: 12 Jul 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. I figured as much but wanted to be certain.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Triple Ace Games Forum Index -> Hellfrost All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP